# PLATTE COUNTY R-3 BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL (OPEN) SESSION MEETING MINUTES

# DISTRICT EDUCATION CENTER BOARD ROOM - 816.858.5420 998 PLATTE FALLS ROAD, PLATTE CITY, MO 64079

Tuesday, August 27, 2024 (6:07 PM)

## **ROLL CALL**

The following board members were present:

#### **BOARD MEMBERS:**

Sharon Sherwood Karen Bryant Shawn Chiddix Mike Matousek Tyler Fadler Amy MacCuish Matt Craine

Also, in attendance: Dr. Jay Harris, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Drew White, Deputy Superintendent

Danielle Nickell, Secretary to the Board of Education

#### **PRELIMINARIES**

A quorum being present and due notice being published, the Special (Open) Session meeting of the Board of Education of the Platte County R-3 School District was called to order by Shawn Chiddix, Board President, on August 27, 2024, at 6:07p.m. All board members were present.

# 1.1 Call to Order

**Recommendation:** Board President, Shawn Chiddix, will call the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. **2.1 Enter Executive Session** 

**Recommendation:** It is recommended the Board of Education enter into executive session to discuss legal matters as authorized by Section 610.021 (1) RSMo.

#### **ORIGINAL** - Motion

Member (Mike Matousek) Moved, Member (Karen Bryant) Seconded to approve the **ORIGINAL** motion 'It is recommended the Board of Education enter into executive session to discuss legal matters as authorized by Section 610.021 (1) RSMo'.

Upon a roll call vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 7 Nay: 0.

The motion Carried. 7 - 0

Platte County R3 School District

# **Special (Open) Session Meeting Minutes**

August 27, 2024

Page 2 of 2

Sharon Sherwood Yes
Karen Bryant Yes
Shawn Chiddix Yes
Mike Matousek Yes
Tyler Fadler Yes
Amy MacCuish Yes
Matt Craine Yes

### 3.1 Adjourn

**Recommendation:** It is recommended the Board of Education adjourn.

# **ORIGINAL** - Motion

Member (Mike Matousek) Moved, Member (Amy MacCuish) Seconded to approve the **ORIGINAL** motion 'It is recommended the Board of Education adjourn'.

Upon a roll call vote being taken, the vote was: Aye: 7 Nay: 0.

The motion Carried. 7 - 0

Sharon Sherwood Yes
Karen Bryant Yes
Shawn Chiddix Yes
Mike Matousek Yes
Tyler Fadler Yes
Amy MacCuish Yes
Matt Craine Yes

Note: Meeting adjourned in OPEN session at 7:09 p.m.

#### **Attest:**

Shawn Chiddix, Board of Education, President Danielle Nickell, Board of Education, Secretary